Comida for Thought
A blog about cooking food from across the border

Lime chicken soft tacos. That’s what’s up

Well folks I have officially found and cooked my first recipe for this delightful blog! The challenge? Lime chicken soft tacos.

The recipe was really simple and most of you probably have a good portion of the ingredients in your home. I unfortunately live on the college student food plan (consisting mainly of diet coke and cereal) and did not have a few of the necessary items in the house. After a trip to the store I got back to the house expecting to put in an hour worth of work for food prep and cooking but I was wrong. After cubing the chicken, dicing the garlic and green onion I realized the bulk of the wait to eat would be in waiting for my friend to show up and my roommate to be ready to eat. When the time came to get to work all it took was cooking the chicken and then throwing the rest of the ingredients in and simmering them all together.

The chicken turned out so good. I was worried that it would dry out in the pan while it cooked since it was on the stove for probably 20 minutes but it managed to stay really moist and the hint of lime was perfect. The recipe also calls for 1/8 cup of red wine vinegar, which weirded me out a little but if you try this recipe don’t nix this (like I thought about doing) because it works really well.

While the chicken simmers you can set up a little taco bar if you’re feeling really ambitious (which I was). I put out shredded lettuce, tomato, avocado and there was also the homemade guacamole, which I threw together before I started cooking, for the chips. Everything turned out so delicious and I will definitely cook this super easy recipe again!

No Responses to “Lime chicken soft tacos. That’s what’s up”

Leave a comment