Comida for Thought
A blog about cooking food from across the border

The “Challenging” Four Layer Bean Dip

As with most of the recipe’s I have tried on here I like having ones that don’t require me to have to make a big expensive trip to the grocery store. Fortunately this recipe turned out to be a craving around 11 p.m. for me and my roommate so our bean dip was going to be made from whatever we had available to us. It turns out all the crucial items were living somewhere in our fridge and pantry. While I would have liked to make some guacamole to put in the dip I sadly did not have any avocados but the beans, salsa, sour cream and cheese was still just as good as we hoped. The first thing we did was put a layer of beans on the bottom of our chosen tupperware.

While this can of beans may look questionable I promise that it was not too old and crusty just slightly, but none of you should worry you can eat out of your own non-crusty bean can. Just scoop out however much you want (I’m a big fan of beans so I used a good amount) and smear them in the bottom of your container.

Once your desired amount of beans is layered in your container you follow it up with some sour cream. I recommend the beans going down first since they are the most solid and you do not want to try smoothing them over the top of anything like sour cream or salsa, but thats just me. Anyway, once the you dollop in a desired amount of sour cream smooth it out over the top of the beans.

As you might have guessed you follow up the beans and sour cream with the salsa. Again one of those things that you can put in as much or as little as you want. We used a lot because as you can tell with the size of the bottle of salsa that my roommate likes salsa so we used a pretty good amount. Once you have these three ingredients in I recommend microwaving them so that it gets nice and warm before you add the cheese so that it doesn’t turn into a crusty pile of lactose on top of your marvelous and stupidly simple bean dip.

Once your bean dip is warm sprinkle your cheese on top and pop it back in the microwave for about 20 seconds until it is melted and gooey. Remove from the microwave and find that stale bag of chips sitting in your pantry and dig in! All in all literally took 3 minutes to make. Can’t beat that!

The warm and gooey bean dip turned out great and was gone within an hour of being made. My lovely Claire Bear and myself quite enjoyed the spoils of our hard work!

No Responses to “The “Challenging” Four Layer Bean Dip”

Leave a comment