Comida for Thought
A blog about cooking food from across the border

Strawberry Margarita

When I went looking for a delightful margarita recipe to make as a little pre game drink sesh for me and my roomies before going out I knew I found the right one when it measured the tequila not by a shot or a splash but by a cup. Bingo. Winner. Anything measuring a solid liquor like tequila in cups has to be amazing right? I thought so too.

Anyway, the search for the perfect recipe started where all great ideas should be searched and no it’s not in Granny’s recipe book (she’s more of a gin and tonic kinda gal)… google. Where else? When the search results appeared one of the first one came from a channel on the food network’s Web site, which I’m a huge sucker for because I love Paula Deen and hoped that she would show me how to incorporate a stick of butter (y’all) into my recipe. Wishful thinking and no such luck 😦 As disappointed as I was to not find a butter infused Paula Deen margarita recipe I found one that almost topped it when it said it was measuring tequila by the cup. Should have known good old Guy Fieri would be doing that. His hair drives me crazy but his units of measurement for liquor sold me.

It would of course have been too much to hope that I would have all the necessary ingredients so I made a little trip to Safeway to collect my poisons. Two fifths of liquor later and some frozen strawberry concentrate later I was back at home standing in front of the blender and my various tools of measurement. First things first, in goes the 2 cups of ice. The ice was quickly followed by 1/2 cup of the strawberry concentrate, a couple of sqeezed limes, splash of Triple Sec and then the moment I had been anticipating that glorious cup of tequila.

There’s something exciting and simultaneously nauseating about a cup of tequila. The smell always makes me remember the morning hurt of a long night spent enjoying its company. Always seems like a good idea at the time. You always reason your way back to it though, too many good memories attached to that golden liquor.

Anyway, back on track. All ingredients are now peacefully sitting in the blender topped off with that lovely cup of tequila. Hit the blend button and bam all flavors combine angrily into a lovely pink drink. Voila! Sweet success. I have probably failed to mention that while the margarita’s were part of pre going out drinks with my roommates, my mom gave me a fabulous set of margarita glasses that I have been dying to break in. With the drinks blended and the glasses sitting and waiting, one more thing remains to be done… the taste test.

The verdict? Delicious! The only thing I ended up deciding I would have changed about the recipe is I think I added a bit too much Triple Sec and would use less and also the strawberry concentrate I chose was actually meant for daiquiri’s and that might have added a strange flavor as well but in all honesty could have been the Triple Sec.

Pictures to come!

No Responses to “Strawberry Margarita”

Leave a comment