Comida for Thought
A blog about cooking food from across the border

Chunky Salsa

I feel that although my last couple posts have involved me making some basic lazy recipes, they are definitely some of my favorite! This week I again have to thank miss Amanda Portillo for sending me a salsa recipe with you guessed it, no measurements. And not only was it measurementless but it was sent to me in a series of three text messages with the final one saying that she had decided that she was to eat this very salsa for dinner that night. A salsa so delicious that its mere mention in a text message is crave inducing.

Since it’s the end of the school year and for once in a very long time I am working only one job I’m fairly broke. Beautifully enough I had all the ingredients in my house except the avocados so my trip to the grocery store was more or less painless in cost.

Once I am back at my house the I begin my task of making delicious, chunky salsa that I again have no idea how it should look. Fortunately it’s salsa so I have a pretty good idea of what I’m getting in to. I bought two avocados when I was at the store because I love avocado and however this salsa gets made, it is going to have a lot of avocado. Cut the two avocados in half and then use a knife and dice it then use a spoon to scoop the diced bits out and into a bowl.

Once all your avocado is in the bowl take a can of black beans and a can of corn and pour half of each in with your avocado. I suggest that before you pour the beans in you rinse them because there is always a thick juice that they sit in and unless you want that I recommend just rinsing them off so that they are clean. Once your beans and corn have joined your avocado you can just give it all a quick mix together. Next you will pour in about a half a cup to a full cup of regular salsa to kind of hold all your other ingredients together. Seems redundant to use pre-made salsa to make salsa but think of it as more of a glue to hold everything together on a chip.

Finally just season your yummy chunky salsa with salt, pepper and tobasco if you so choose. Again, I am super white and therefore extremely pathetic when it comes to spicy so I steer clear. But if your into that face-on-fire feel you just go ahead and spice it up. After all, if I can tailor my Amanda recipes to my liking you can certainly tailor my interpretation to suit you!

No Responses to “Chunky Salsa”

Leave a comment