Comida for Thought
A blog about cooking food from across the border

Quick Guac Recipe

As usual I sit trying to decide what to blog about and then it suddenly pops into my head: guacamole! Why have I not yet made guacamole? I love chips and guac and it’s soooooooo easy to make. So it’s decided, guacamole it will be. This is another recipe where there is a very good chance you will already have all your ingredients in the house. I, of course, do not because I’m too lazy to go grocery shopping and with graduation and a move out of my house right around the corner I just can’t bring myself to buy too many groceries that may end up not getting eaten in time so I wait it out as long as possible until I have absolutely no food and then I go to the store and buy as little as possible. So I go to the store and amongst my measly basket of Apple Jacks cereal and juice are two avocados, chips and sour cream. It took me probably 10 minutes to pick out my avocados because you want to make sure that you get fairly ripe ones. They should be soft but not too mushy, but definitely steer clear of ones that are too hard. Always go with softer ones, they will have better flavor. Anywho, I take my odd assortment of groceries to the check-out counter and then quickly scamper off to my car excited to get home to make my delicious guac.

I get home and gather all my necessary items: avocado, sour cream, salsa, salt, pepper and cayenne pepper if you want a little kick. I went with two avocados this time because it is a perfect amount if you plan on going to town on the guacamole alone (which I did). If you want to make it to share I’d say go with 3 to 4 avocados. Anyway, start by slicing your avocado in half and dicing it into a bowl. Throw out the outer peel but hang on to the pits. Once you have diced all your avocado into your dish give it a quick mash but not too much. You want it to stay pretty lumpy since you still have things to mix in and don’t want it to end too smooth (unless you like that). Next throw in a hefty spoonful (maybe about 2 tbs) of sour cream. Mix them together until it is at the consistency you like. Next throw in some salsa. You can use however much you want, I use about 1 tbs or so. Stir salsa in. Next season with salt pepper and cayenne if you want a little bit of a kick. I know that I’m notoriously wimpy when it comes to spicy but it gives the guacamole a nice flavor and I don’t mind a little bit of spiciness. Voila! You have a delicious small serving of guacamole that took less than 10 minutes to make and has hardly any clean up! Grab your tortilla chips and head to the couch.

No Responses to “Quick Guac Recipe”

Leave a comment