Comida for Thought
A blog about cooking food from across the border

Calabacitas

In the search for the next recipe I skipped my go-to googling and instead approached the age old technique of asking around. Enter Amanda Portillo. My dear friend whom I waste away with throughout the week in our final semester of school shared with me a recipe that seems more like a hodge podge collection of food all held together with cheese. I’m immediately delighted. Amanda sends me the recipe and in the first paragraph she forewarns me of what’s ahead, “I don’t have any measurements and also this is just the way I always like to eat it, so it might not adhere to any cookbook rules, haha.” Haha indeed Amanda. She did not lie and at no point in her instructions was I given any form of measurement or serving size comparison.

Welp, time to improv.

I dice two tomatoes and half an onion and throw it in a pan with some olive oil to saute. I have committed to this recipe and there is no turning back now. I saute and then move on to my 3 zucchini squashes, 1 yellow and 2 green. I cut them all in to coins. I notice that my tomatoes have turned to mush but I cook on, undeterred by their dissolved state of being and toss in my squashcoins. The saute-fest continues. The vegetable trio cooks for about 5 minutes (mostly because I’m engrossed in Desperate Housewives, but I digress). The 5 minutes feels adequate. I feel that I have successfully portioned all the vegetables so that they are not over nor underwhelming. I pat myself on the back. But there is not time for celebration. It’s time for the corn. I have a whole can and seeing as Amanda chose not to provide any measurements I decide that the whole can will suffice since I am a big fan of corn.

And now for the piece de resistance: cheese. Delicious mozzarella cheese. At this point I divert myself back to Amanda’s email to refer to what she may suggest in the way of cheese. I learn that Amanda is a big fan of cheese. She chooses to add a “ridiculous” amount. So I follow suit thinking all the while as I add my cheese if Amanda would be pleased and approve of my calabacitas. I stir in the cheese with the rest of my yummy vegetable medley and voila! It’s done. I stand over the pan smelling the delicious calabacitas and whatever else is burning on my stove and fish a fork out of the silverware drawer. I do not use a bowl, bowl’s are for rookies. Amanda was right, “ridiculous” cheese was a good call. The calabacitas is awesome! The corn was nice and sweet, he zucchini’s were still a little crisp, which I like, and even my dissolved tomatoes showed up on my taste buds refusing to be forgotten. And then of course the gooey cheese held it all together.

This recipe was quick and easy taking no more than 20 minutes including prep time for vegetables. Thanks to Amanda whoprovided me with probably the only detailed, followable recipe with no measurements I have ever seen. Whether or not this is what it was supposed to turn out like I am really happy at how it came out. Everyone loves cheesy vegetables.

No Responses to “Calabacitas”

Leave a comment